Home > Uttarakhand > Char Dham Yatra



Yamunotri Dham

Dhaam NameDevoted toAltitudeOpening Date
Yamunotri DhaamRiver Yamuna3,293 meters14th May

Gangotri Dham

Dhaam NameDevoted toAltitudeOpening Date
Gangotri DhaamRiver Ganga3,415 meters14th May

Shri Badarinath Dhaam

Dhaam NameDevoted toAltitudeOpening Date
Badrinath DhaamLord Vishnu3,300 meters18th May

Shri Kedarnath Dhaam

Dhaam NameDevoted toAltitudeOpening Date
Kedarnath DhaamLord Shiva3,553 meters17th May

Char Dham Yatra

Brief Description

Nestled among the serene heights of the great Himalayas are four pilgrim-destinations namely Yamunotri, Gangotri, Kedarnath, and Badrinath, collectively known as Char Dham. These pilgrimage centers draw the maximum numbers of pilgrims each year, thus becoming the most important hubs of religious travel in the whole of Northern India. Traditionally, the pilgrimage begins from the West and ends in the East. Thus, the Char Dham Yatra commences from Yamunotri, then proceeding to Gangotri and finally to Kedarnath and Badrinath. There are four holy shrines in Uttarakhand dedicated to Hindu Gods and holy rivers of India. The four shrines are situated within the Garhwal Region. These are collectively referred as “Char Dhaam of Uttarakhand” . Pilgrims from all over India and abroad visit the shrines as “Char Dhaam Yatra”. In Hindu religion, Char Dhaam Yatra holds has great importance and sanctity. It is believed that every Hindu should undertake Char Dhaam Yatra at least once in a life time to avail the blessings of gods adorning the shrines.

Haridwar is the traditional point to start Char Dhaam Yatra of Uttarakhand. Haridwar is in the plains and easily accessible by Road & Train from other locations of India, including New Delhi. It is also accessible by Road from Dehradun, which has Airport. So, Piligrims can fly to Dehradun from Delhi & other locations in India and then proceed to Haridwar by Road travel.

Haridwar is famous for Ganga Aarthi which takes place in evening daily and through out the year.

From Haridwar, Piligrims can travel by Road to the next stop in Char Dham yatra ie Rishikesh, which is also in plains. Ganga Aarthi takes place in Rishikesh also in the evening daily.

From Rishikesh, Piligrims can travel to Four places of Char Dham yatra i. e, Badrinath, Kedarnath, Gangotri and Yamunotri. Details are given below.

Our entire team belongs to this hilly state of Uttarakhand, we are locals.
We know the people, culture, tradition, and the terrain like no one other. A vast network of business associates, tour guides & escorts, and locals helps us to conduct and organize perfect memorable chardham pilgrimage.

Dhaam NameDevoted toAltitudeOpening DateClosing DateAccessibility
Yamunotri DhaamRiver Yamuna3,293 metersOpened NowNAFrom Rishikesh, Piligrims have to first reach Janaki Chatti by Road travel. From Janaki Chatti, Piligrims can reach Yamunotri by :
(1) Pony (2) Trekking
Gangotri DhaamRiver Ganges3,415 metersOpened NowNAFrom Rishikesh, Piligrims can reach Gangotri completely by Road travel. However, to reach Gaumukh (Source of River Ganges), Piligrims have to travel by Trekking.
Shri Badarinath DhaamLord Vishnu3,300 metersOpened NowNAFrom Rishikesh, Piligrims can reach Badrinath completely by Road travel.
Shri Kedarnath DhaamLord Shiva3,553 metersOpened NowNAFrom Rishikesh, Piligrims have to first reach Sitapur by Road travel. From Sitapur, Piligrims can travel to Kedarnath, by : (1) Helicopter (2) Pony (3) Trekking

About Char Dham Yatra 



Follow Us On

©2023. greatadventure.in All Rights Reserved.

payment methard
Scroll to Top